This event was hosted by the International Club of India in partnership with the All India Tennis Association (AITA). There were six teams that participated in this round robin format event.







Unfortunately, Brazil could not make it for some unforeseen reasons, and hence India ‘B’ filled in as an alternative.

On the 12th there was a spectacular inauguration with the Army Band welcoming the players followed by a folk dance performance by Tsunami survivors. This was followed by a wheel chair doubles event. In the audience we had 75 children from the DCCW (The Delhi Council for Child welfare) an adoption agency in the capital along with 250 children from The Sriram School.

The event was inaugurated by the Honorable Chief Minister of Haryana, Mr. Bhupinder Singh Hooda, a keen tennis player himself. Also in attendance were Mr. Barry Weatherill and Mr. Julian Tatum of the World IC Council. Sanjeev Kassal, the Tournament Director welcomed the players and Barry spoke some encouraging words along with Daljit Wallia, the President of IC India and Mr. Anil Khanna, the Head of the All India Tennis Association.

There were some very well fought matches throughout the five days of play. On the final day some spectacular matches were witnessed. In a nail biting finish, and after several match points traded, India ‘A’ beat Germany in a super tie breaker 18-16! This enabled India to enter into the ‘final three’ along with Germany and Great Britain. Lots were drawn and India once again had to play Germany, while GB went straight into the finals.

This time around Germany got the better of their host country in another close encounter 12-10.

In the decider, the GB mixed doubles team of Tommy Bennett and Alannah Griffin played exceptionally well to edge out Hendriik Bertrams and Noemi Hemmerich of Germany 10-6.

Great Britain won the event, with Germany as the Runners up and India ‘A’ coming in third.

It was a wonderful few days and an enriching experience for all the players, captains and the hosts. The matches were played in the right spirit with all the teams displaying a very high level of sportsmanship.

The Chief Guest on the final day was the Speaker of the Lok Sabha (India’s Parliament), Ms Meira Kumar. She gave away the prizes along with Daljit Wallia and Vikas Singh of IC India. Mr. Julian Tatum gave away two sportsmanship awards to Tommy Bennett (boys) and Natasha Palha (girls). Julian and Daljit thanked the participants and organisers for a super few days of tennis.